Triton quintet honored

Triton quintet honored

OCT 31, 2018

BY: DANA BECKER, The Messenger Sports Reporter


Five members of the Iowa Central soccer program were named all-region recently.

For the Triton women, Emily Branson, Julia De Oliveira and Bruna Moureira made the first team, with Guzman Diaz and Guillaume Rouzic earning top honors for the men.

Iowa Central posted a 13-3 record and finished 8-1 in the ICCAC under head coach Jared Beauchamp, falling in the Region XI finals to Iowa Western. That loss snapped a nine-match win streak for the Tritons, who were a perfect 6-0 at home.

Both De Oliveira and Moureira had 13 goals and 10 assists each, with Branson adding 11 goals and three assists. Moureira and Branson are both freshman for Iowa Central.

Former FDSH standout Mara Crimmins earned second team honors, along with Vitoria Alves Balieiro and Bruna Bielski. Alayna Kray and Kersten Molina were honorable mention picks.

Crimmins started 15 matches, recording six goals with three assists.

Iowa Western's Laura Chavez was player of the year with coach of the year going to Iowa Western's Adam Sanchez.

The Triton men posted a 10-4-1 record, going 8-2 in the conference. They had their season come to an end against Iowa Western in the Region XI quarterfinals.

Diaz, a freshman, had 10 goals and 14 assists, with Rouzic, a sophomore, tallying 15 goals and four assists.

"Both Guzman and Guillaume were critical parts to our attack and success," head coach Pablo Rodriguez said. "They were tremendous on the field with their abilities to finish plays."

Agustin Contreras and Jose Reis were second team, with Thiago Nascimento and Josh Precious claiming honorable mention status.

"Having Guzman, Agustin and Jose back will give us a strong foundation to build upon, as were freshman-dominated this year," Rodriguez said. "We are going to miss Guillaume, as he was a great player and great student."

Rafael Vacas of Marshalltown was voted player of the year, with Marshalltown's Rafael Martinez and Iowa Lakes' Ben MacRae sharing coach of the year honors.